Kundalini Yoga + the 10 Bodies of Light


Kundalini Yoga is the yoga of awareness. This classical style of yoga combines movement, breath, mental concentration and sound to inspire integration of the self within the 10 light bodies and the chakra system.

When you look at a person from the viewpoint of the 10 bodies, you see the physical body, the mental bodies (negative, positive and neutral), the soul body as well as 5 ethereal aspects of the self (the arc line, the aura, the pranic body, the subtle body and the radiant body). Each of the 10 bodies has their own unique qualities in mind, body and spirit. When we relate the 10 bodies to our birth month, we answer the question: What am I mastering? This tells us what we are here to learn in this lifetime.

The 10 bodies of Light 

Light Body

Archetype In Mind – Body – Spirit Birth Month
One Leader Your spirit, heart and soul . Expressed as love of self and love of all. Learning to lead from the heart by balancing the head and heart. January
Two Diplomat Your negative or discerning mind. Expressed as a longing to belong to something greater than yourself. Learning about relationships and paying attention to the details. February
Three Caregiver Your positive or divine mind. Expressed as creativity where anything is possible. Learning to relax, stay positive and have fun. March + December
Four Builder Your neutral or complete mind. Expressed as selfless service like karma yoga. Learning to be unreactive and neutral. April
Five Teacher Your physical body, learning and teaching through life experience. Expressed as living life through the senses. Learning to communicate. May
Six Counselor Your arc-line or halo. Expressed as your self-esteem and well being. Learning to honour yourself and others. June
Seven Seeker Your aura, or the electromagnetic field that surrounds you. Expressed as your ability to uplift yourself and others through energy and knowledge. Learning to look inward. July
Eight Executive Your pranic body. Expressed in your breath, which is your life force, your energy and power. Learning to manage money, power and healing. August
Nine Humanitarian Your subtle body. Expressed as your grace, elegance, mystery and mastery. Learning to be in the right place, at the right time, to take the right action; using your intuition. September
Ten Warrior Your radiant body. Expressed as your projected radiance and courage. Learning to fight and win and be at peace. This is the guardian energy. October
Eleven Guide The culmination and merging of all bodies. Expressed as your own willpower and integrity. Learning to know the truth; to see the light and to manifest your heart’s desires. November
Zero All is One Shunia or the zero point. Expressed as mastery and direction of your mind, expansion of kindness and compassion to infinity. Learning to be One beyond ego. All

When you look at the archetype that your birth month represents it’s pointing towards what you’re learning and mastering in your life. Take a moment to consider which month you’re born in and what the “mastery” of your lifetime is. For instance, I’m born in January so I’m mastering Leadership and more specifically, I’m learning how to lead with love from a balanced place between my head and my heart.

What I love about Kundalini yoga, is you can look for a meditation or a kriya (which means set of exercises) that energetically supports you in exactly what you’re wanting or needing to heal. Going back to my example of being born in January and learning about how to balance my head and heart; when I was learning to become a yoga teacher I did a 90-day practice using a meditation to help me do just that called Sat-Kar-Tar. 

All the yoga-based programs I teach are rooted in the Kundalini tradition. A practice of Kundalini yoga consists of tuning-in and centering the self, movement, deep relaxation and meditation. When you breathe, move, and meditate in this way you’ll experience a world of energy inside you. With a heightened awareness of your body, mind and spirit you’ll have the beautiful gift of experiencing your 8 chakras and your 10-bodies and healing your whole self.

If you want to learn with me right now there are two ways:  

1. Moon Goddess yoga & meditation

2. Spiritual Warrior Advanced Yoga Teacher Training

My signature program Moon Goddess is a cycle-harmonizing, fertility-enhancing yoga and meditation program, which is practiced by women in over 25 countries. If you want to learn more about how to harness the transformative power of Kundalini yoga and your fertile feminine connection with the moon, then check out Moon Goddess. Click here to learn more. 

If you want to teach a moon-centred practice of kundalini yoga and meditation, then check out the 300-hour Spiritual Warrior Advanced YTT which starts March 1, 2021. Here’s what Yoga Farm has to say about their unique, interactive online program: 

Our online training is unlike any other. 5 masterful women educators have brought together a course that weaves together the sciences of Kundalini yoga and Ayurveda, infused by the wisdom of the Enneagram and Lunar cycles.”

Listen to your intuitive guidance to see which program is calling you, dear goddess. I would love to work with you.

Photo courtesy of Francine Rivera, Kundalini Yoga Instructor at Yoga Farm Kundalini Community, Founder of Thorn & Thistle. You can find her on IG @ThornNthistlewellness